“I will learn it when I need it”!

my reply to Alan Skokin:

Excellent post Alan.
As you said, no one will wait you till you understand what’s going on. Alot of experts will eat your lunch. So you have to be prepaired.
I think “I will learn it when I need it”! should be changed to “I will learn it BEFORE I need it”!
Ahmed.

A highly pragmatic attitude.

The whole industry has become a bunch of generalists.

Why bother, it will be replaced, superseded, marginalised and out of fashion before you’re half way done.

it’s more about lack of desire rather than lack of knowledge.

Let’s apply this thinking to finance, “I will invest my money when I think I need the money“. Somehow it doesn’t quite have the same kind of pragmatic ring to it.

I will learn it when I need it” mentality falls over. You can’t learn something if you don’t know it exists

skimming subjects doesn’t allow you to retain anything, our brain doesn’t work that way. If we don’t reinforce and dig deeper into the concepts we quickly page that information out as unimportant, it is a waste of time (think back to cramming for exams, how much do you remember the next day?).

How about building a website then, we all know how to do that, but what if you need to do it for 10 million users a day. We just need to learn everything about scaling, I am sure the users will wait a month or two for us to get up to speed 🙂.

 

http://www.skorks.com/2011/02/the-greatest-developer-fallacy-or-the-wisest-words-youll-ever-hear/

About Ahmed

Software craftsman, programmer, developer, system/business analyst, DBA and PM.
This entry was posted in Experience, Learning and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

