Deliberate Practice for Programmers

This paper “The Role of Deliberate Practice in the Acquisition of Expert Performance” is one of the best research papers I have ever read about. Why? Because it open the door for anyone to be an expert in any field.

The main findings in this paper are:

1- Nothing called talent that will sit you among top performers, but smart individual hard work.

2- Keys to acquire experience are:

a- A task that is just beyond you capability.

b- Repetion

c- Observe weaknesses in your performance.

d- Adjust your performance accordingly.

How we can apply this to programming ?

e.g. I would like to know how to connect from ASP.NET VB.NET to Access and SQL Server databases

a- This task is just beyond my capability because I’ve done this before using Visual Studio 2008 Wizard, and this time I would like to use web.config and VB.NET for security reasons.

b- I will repeat this process until I know it by heart. Basics skills when know it by heart will save room in memory for next level skills.

c- I will search for other codes which do the same thing with much different way, and test the performance.

d- Adjust my code until it gives me the best performance and clearance so as for someone who will come later to read or modify it find it very easy.

Ahmed.

About Ahmed

Software craftsman, programmer, developer, system/business analyst, DBA and PM.
This entry was posted in Deliberate Practice, Experience and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

